Digital Euro Association Blog

DEA Thesis Awards 2023: Call for Theses on central bank digital currencies and stablecoins

The Digital Euro Association (DEA) is delighted to announce the 2023 DEA Thesis Awards, and hereby calls for theses covering central bank digital currencies or stablecoins (including tokenized commercial bank money, etc.). Note that this is not a call for academic publications but rather student papers that have been submitted at academic institutions all over the world since we want to encourage young students to research these topics. With this second call for papers, the DEA will award the most novel and innovative theses focused on central bank digital currencies and stablecoins in line with our mission to encourage education about central bank digital currencies, stablecoins, and related digital money topics.

Eligible topics include, amongst others, one of the following aspects (independent of the field of research) related to CBDCs or stablecoins:

  • Economic, technological, and policy implications (preferably in the context of the Euro Area)
  • Technological designs
  • Use cases and business models
  • The role of privacy in CBDCs
  • The role of open-source technology for CBDCs
  • The role of programmability
  • Acceptance of CBDCs and stablecoins
  • Risks and opportunities
  • Value propositions of CBDCs
  • Offline payments and CBDCs
  • Citizens interest in CBDCs or stablecoins
  • etc. 

The top three theses will be awarded as follows:

First prize: 1000 EUR

Second prize: 500 EUR

Third prize: 200 EUR

Thesis submission
All theses must be submitted as a single PDF in electronic form by COB Friday, March 17th 2023. Kindly complete this submission form.

Please note: in order to participate in this program, it is necessary that the thesis has already been submitted at an academic institution and has been written in English. When submitting the thesis, please provide the information about when and at which university you submitted the thesis, its language, and if it was a Bachelor’s or Master’s thesis.

For questions or queries reach out to

Award Ceremony

The winners will be announced and awarded at an online public event in April 2023.

No Comments Yet

Let us know what you think